Video Game Hollow Knight: A Review 

Robbie Gajda 

A couple years ago I was talking to my friend. We were discussing video games we’ve played. He asked me if I played a game called Hollow Knight. I told him no, and he responded, “Play it, go play it right now. Seriously stop talking and play this game, it’s amazing.” 

 I had thought about getting it before, but I guess something about the cartoony art style kind of made me dismiss it. That night I went to the Nintendo Switch Eshop, and saw it was purchasable for only $15.00. I had trusted my friend’s suggestion and bought the game. The next day I went on vacation to Rhode Island. Once settled in, I started to play the game.  

From the start it had… Intrigued me. No grandiose film, no opening exposition, simply a short animation of a chain, and a poem. 

“In wilds beyond they speak your name with reverence and regret, 

For none could tame our savage souls yet you the challenge met, 

Under palest watch, you taught, we changed, base instincts were redeemed, 

A world you gave to bug and beast as they had never dreamed.” 

-From “Elegy For Hollownest” by Monomon the teacher 

I had not known anything about these people or what any of this could mean. But I already wanted to learn more about this world and the people who lived inside it. The game starts with you landing in an unknown location, yet it feels like it should almost be called… Nowhere. There is nothing for you to do except walking forward. There is no full tutorial that removes you from the game, just some hints, mainly from the environment. It indirectly shows you how the game feels, and the basic laws of how this world works. 

I could rant on and on about my first impressions from area to area of the game, but that is something that you really must experience for yourself. But now, let me tell you about a few things that I think make this game great. 

Enemies: The enemies in this game are very simple, yet still interesting. Almost every enemy in this game attacks differently with a certain flow or rhythm. The typical enemies in this game are not very deadly by themselves, however they might be a problem when stacked with each other’s help. Practically every enemy is unique and I get excited whenever I see a new one and figure out how it works. 

Bosses: 90% of bosses (unique and stronger enemies) in this game are exceptionally well crafted. When you first fight a new boss, it can sometimes feel like slamming against a brick wall. It is also where most people who play this game start to give up, because of the difficulty. However, once you go at it a couple of times, you start to get a feel for the different attacks and now this game turns into a sort of dance. You need to follow the rhythm of the fight and find a flow with it. Admittedly, some bosses do this better than others, but the bosses that do this well are unforgettable. 

Exploration: When you first start this game, you are probably going to lose your way a little bit. But not all who wander are lost. The map is incredibly helpful on a first playthrough. You might get frustrated, but eventually you will see the light at the end of the tunnel. Side note, if you come across somewhere that seems just out of reach, then that means you probably don’t have the ability required to go there. If you explore some other areas more, you’ll find just the thing you need. This game also does a great job at making different areas feel super unique from each other. Every time I entered a new area, I got super excited to explore what was in store, and I was never disappointed. The characters, as few as they are, can also be interesting. Most of them seem simple at first, but they usually have more to them than what first meets the eye. 

Story: The story is very deep and often convoluted. The most interesting thing about it is that most of it is solely environmental storytelling, which this game does an amazing job at. There’s no hour-long exposition dump where you need to take notes just to figure out who is who. Introductions are usually kept relatively short, and the characters that narrate them are usually telling you about their own stories. You can then make connections to other things you have seen in the game already.  

Soundtrack/OST: I believe that the soundtrack to this game is beautiful. I even listen to this soundtrack on my own time too. Each song is meticulously crafted to perfectly fit each boss or area. If you play a certain song for a fan of this game, they can most likely tell you where that song is from in the game. The music can also help tell the story. It can connect characters with similar chords, or for some bosses, specifically the “final” boss. It can bring a new light to what you think might be happening.  

Closing Thoughts. 

So, to conclude this review, Hollow Knight is so much more than it seems. There are twists and turns– and you will find that this game challenges your own mental strength. The game is difficult, yet satisfying. The frustration of going at an enemy over and over again will make you learn and adapt. You will realize that you are getting better, and eventually, you will conquer your task that seemed impossible at first. Playing this game will give you a thrill like no other. So, follow my friend’s advice. Go play it right now, it is amazing. 

Final score 9.5/10 

Must play. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this. This is my first ever article for the Tusker Times and I want to know what you think about it. I was thinking about doing more of these, maybe even ranking games or doing a top ten of my favorites. This has been very fun for me, and I hope I continue to write more articles about things I’m passionate about. 

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑